I have a ton of books I haven’t read. I think all writers do. We buy books, and then for some reason or another (lost interest, not enough time, forgot about) we don’t read these books and they remain on our bookshelf – spine in perfect condition, pages never touched. While packing up my books, I set aside the ones I haven’t read. I figure that I’ll have some time to read while in China, so I’ll take five or six with me.

Here’s the problem: which ones do I take with? I’m currently reading Then We Came to the End by Joshua Ferris, and while on the USS Chancellorsville, I’ll read River Town: Two Years on the Yangtze by Peter Hassler (which Dick recommended because it’s a recent book about teaching in China). But in order to narrow down my list to a handful of books, I’m enlisting your help. Below is a list of books I own and have not read (or have not completed).

Which should I take with to China and why? Leave comments with your suggestions.

  • Later, At the Bar by Rebecca Barry
  • Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs by Chuck Klosterman
  • The Untouched Minutes by Donald Morrill
  • Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer
  • Walden : And Other Writings by Henry David Thoreau (I’ve read part of this put not all)
  • Under the Banner of Heaven by Jon Krakauer
  • Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
  • Possible Side Effects by Augusten Burroughs
  • A Passage to India by E.M. Forster
  • Fishboy by Mark Richard
  • We’re in Trouble by Christopher Coake
  • The Evil B.B. Chow by Steve Almond (Started the first couple stories)
  • Heaven’s Coast by Mark Doty
  • Blue Highways by William Least Heat-Moon
  • Not that You Asked by Steve Almond
  • Dispatches by Michael Herr
  • Thieves of Baghdad by Matthew Bogdanos
  • My Misspent Youth by Meghan Daum
  • The KGB Bar Nonfiction Reader
  • A Rumor of War by Philip Caputo
  • A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby
  • The Horizontal World: Growing Up Wild in the middle of Nowhere by Debra Marquart
  • Black Swan Green by David Mitchell
  • Just Another Soldier by Jason Christopher Hartley
  • What Was Asked of Us by Trish Wood
  • Generation Kill by Evan Wright
  • Babylon By Bus by Ray Lemoine and Jeff Neumann
  • My War: Killing Time in Iraq by Colby Buzzell
  • Spook: Science Tackles the Afterlife by Mary Roach
  • Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach
  • Meeting Faith: An Inward Odyssey by Faith Adiele
